Half-Elves

Archive of the Sojourn3 Ideas Forum.
Caedym
Sojourner

Half-Elves

Postby Caedym » Wed Jan 31, 2001 2:32 am

For the longest time here, basically since I started playing sojourn 1, I've been wondering why half-elves always had the LEAST amount of class selection (this is before squids mind you). I don't see why they should be able to be most of the other classes, bar mages since sojourn only deals with specialized mage classes (aka there effectively is no 'generic' mage on sojourn).

So my question, and part proposal here is, are half-elves going to finally be allowed to play rogues (yeah I especially mean the new Soj3 ones), warriors, and clerics?

A grey elf can be a warrior or cleric but a half-elf can't? I don't understand that logic at all, but don't bother to explain it, unless it's something good. Perhaps don’t let halfies be clerics but at least shamans? Furthermore, if you are deciding to put berserkers back in, I’m unaware of any news about this but felt I should cover all bases, I don’t think half-elves should be allowed that class either.

If the reasoning is someplace behind how there aren’t really that many half-elves in society and Sojourn wants to reflect that aspect, just make the chances of being that class by meeting the ability requirements harder in char gen or something. Free up the Halfies!