Limitations of Half-Elves

Feedback, bugs, and general gameplay related discussion.
Pisalos
Sojourner

Limitations of Half-Elves

Postby Pisalos » Fri Jun 03, 2005 6:55 pm

I don't understand why half-elves aren't certain classes. Ones that come to mind right away would be: Illusionist, shaman, invoker, enchanter, anti-paladin (seeing as half-elves aren't readily accepted), and cleric. Half elf doesn't really have a niche that I've seen but I'm just starting out so any insight would help.
Birile
Sojourner

Re: Limitations of Half-Elves

Postby Birile » Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:24 pm

Pisalos wrote:I don't understand why half-elves aren't certain classes. Ones that come to mind right away would be: Illusionist, shaman, invoker, enchanter, anti-paladin (seeing as half-elves aren't readily accepted), and cleric. Half elf doesn't really have a niche that I've seen but I'm just starting out so any insight would help.

Actually, the only class I would say I would give to the half-elf race would be rogue.

I believe the reasoning--as you touched on--is that half-elves aren't really accepted by the elven and human races. Thus, no one wants to teach them the typical crafts (magic, non-nature healing) and the crafts they DO learn are from wandering around and/or communing with nature. Thus, the bard, druid and ranger class choices. As for anti-paladin, they're not generally an evil race, and they would have to be accepted by evil humans (and their gods) to be this class.
Pisalos
Sojourner

Postby Pisalos » Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:01 am

Oops, got paladin w/anti confused. I mean paladin, because they would seek refuge I think in their denial from normal society. Definitely agree with rogue - forgot that too. Considering they can be bards. Really hoping to see some illusionists and elementalists available. Not even 18, so I don't know what or much of D&D but the more I play the mud, the more I think about it when I'm not :)
Selias
Sojourner

Postby Selias » Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:22 am