Healthcare Reform

Life, the universe, and everything.
Forum rules
- No personal attacks against players or staff members - please be civil!
- No posting of mature images/links, keep content SFW. If it's NSFW, don't post it on these forums.
Sarvis
Sojourner

Healthcare Reform

Postby Sarvis » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:19 pm

I'm absolutely amazed Kiryan hasn't posted anything yet. He must be slipping...

So how does everyone feel about this? The only thing I've really heard about it is that it will require families to buy health insurance if they don't have some already. That doesn't actually sit terribly well with me, as I know there are a lot of times when I was a kid that affording FOOD was troublesome... there's no way we could have afforded healthcare.

Am I missing something on that?
Corth
Sojourner

Re: Healthcare Reform

Postby Corth » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:04 pm

I'm no expert on the bill by any stretch of the imagination. I think though the part you are missing is the fact that insurers could not deny your application for insurance due to a pre-existing condition. So for instance if you don't buy health insurance there is a tax of I think around $2,000 per person per year. But why not just pay the tax and once you actually become sick buy the insurance? I would expect that the tax is cheaper than the insurance, no?

As for low income Americans, they wouldn't have to buy insurance as medicaid would be expanded to 133% of the poverty line.