Introducing Toril 2.0

Shevarash
FORGER CODER

Introducing Toril 2.0

Postby Shevarash » Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:10 pm

Sojourners,

First off, I apologize for the long silence on development issues over the past several months. While it may have seemed that nothing was going on on that front, nothing could be further from the truth. I have been working for about 7 months now on a massive update to revolutionize the MUD that we all love. I've been around for a long time, and I can honestly say that this will be the largest and most comprehensive update that the Sojourn family of MUDs has ever seen.

Second, a little bit of explanation. The Sojourn/Toril codebase is an amazing thing - fifteen plus years of development by dozens of coders who come and go, workign on their own little slices of the MUD. While this has obviously led us to a great game, its sometimes amazing that things even work and there is an overwhelming potential for gameplay imbalances as we've continuously tried to fit round pegs in square holes and built ontop of a system that was never designed for some of the things we'd like to do. Also, any of you that have exeperience in software design will recognize how difficult a codebase like this can be just to maintain.

Most importantly, this game needs modernizing and freshing up. Its time to stop living with the age-old annoyances and inconsistencies and do something about it.

So with all that said, here is a little overview of whats coming.

Here's a list of the core systems that have been rewritten, with some of their highlights.

COMBAT ENGINE

- All new hit and damage calculations
- Built-in support for ranged weapons (missile and thrown)
- Expanded Damage Resistance system
- Introduces a system for combat actions (e.g. bash, trip, etc) that allows for highly varied and engaging tactical actions within combat.
- Support for individual weapon types and capabilities (of the weapon).

MAGIC SYSTEM

- Brand-new, from scribing to preparing to casting.