Me.

Share your original RP stories here.
Daz
Sojourner

Me.

Postby Daz » Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:42 am

In 1995, I had been mudding for a couple of years . . I was out to try something new. Some of my friends played ad&d, and I occasionally hung out and watched while they did. The books were kinda cool, and hey - since I didn't drink at the time - what else was there to do? (Oddly, I didn't like dealing with High School girls til college).

I ran a yahoo search for 'games forgotten realms mud' and here I came. After reading over the web page, I quickly opened a telnet window.

My first character was a human mercenary, who died a painful death at level 14 to the Crimson Death. I decided that it was time to peruse other career options. A human conjurer this time. I played off and on, but I remember the exact moment I was hooked to Sojourn. When I found an unlooted tiny silver ring.

Never before had I come across a magical item before, I had some leather from split shield and a few other items . . . but this . . a tiny silver ring! I was sure it must be great, but I didn't quite know what it was. I stared at it, examined it, in the end - I simply put it on. From that day on, the magic of discovery enthralled me. Slowly levels came to me, and one day - I had my own elementals. I was a god, unkillable and all-mighty.

After the navy seamen put me back in my place, it took about a week to get my elementals back. I was more cautious now, a veteran of the game. I didn't have many friends, Tyaak . . Chandigar . . Grenan . . Kyse . . a couple of other people. Despite Tyaak's frequent scoldings about not being a dwarf conjurer, or even a barbarian . . I continued being a newbie.